Health and Social Care Awards 2009 – 31/12/08

Health and Social Care Awards Logo Who deserves recognition in the West Midlands?

2009 West Midlands’ Health and Social Care Awards to celebrate excellence and innovation

Following on from our highly successful awards this year, the search is again on to find the best health and social care staff and teams in the West Midlands.

We all know colleagues who have made an exceptional contribution to health and social care. This might be through an innovative approach that makes a real difference to patients and users or by the sheer excellence of their work and outstanding dedication to the service.

These people deserve to be recognised – show how much you value them, by encouraging them to apply or nominating them for one of these flagship awards run in partnership with the NHS Institute for Innovation and Improvement and the Department of Health.

Shortlisted candidates and teams will be invited to a special Awards ceremony, hosted by NHS West Midlands, in May. As anyone who attended last year’s awards will tell you this promises to be a lively, entertaining and enjoyable event.

The 2009 West Midlands’ Health and Social Care Awards will recognise the outstanding work of NHS and Social Care staff who have made an exceptional contribution to people’s care. Staff in hospitals, GP Practices, mental health, ambulance services and Social Care teams are being invited to nominate individuals or teams who have delivered excellence in their work. You can also nominate yourself or your own team. The application deadline is 6th March 2009.

The West Midlands Awards ceremony, to be held in May 2009, is one of ten regional Award ceremonies taking place across England which are linked to the National Health and Social Care Awards. Winners from the 2009 West Midlands Health and Social Care Awards will automatically be entered into the National Health and Social Care Awards, celebratory event to be held in the summer.

Peter Shanahan, Interim Chief Executive of NHS West Midlands said:

“These awards provide a wonderful way to congratulate staff on some tremendous work that is being done throughout the West Midlands, work which is making a real difference for patients and service users. This highlights and celebrates innovation and excellence and also provides an invaluable opportunity to share best practice across the region”

There are 15 Award categories in total covering the full range of NHS and social care services. These are:

  • Carbon Reduction and Implementing Climate Change Award 
  • Improving Health and Reducing Inequalities 
  • Primary and Community Care Pathways 
  • Innovation in Acute Care 
  • Mental Health Wellbeing 
  • Patient Safety 
  • People’s award for Dignity in Care 
  • Transforming Services 
  • Leadership for Improvement 
  • Innovative Health and Social Care Technology 
  • Adopt, Adapt and Improve 
  • Success in Partnership Working 
  • NHS Live Award 
  • Excellence in Commissioning 

For more information on the Awards, or to make a nomination, please log onto: and click on ‘West Midlands”.